Photo of Jen Lawson - Member of the Police Services Board(NIAGARA FALLS) – Bill Steele, Acting Chair of the Niagara Police Services Board, welcomed Ms. Jen Lawson of the Town of Grimsby to the Police Services Board.  Ms. Lawson was appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario for a three-year term commencing November 20, 2020.  Ms. Lawson fills the position previously held by former Board Member Ken Gansel, who served for over 8 years.

Ms. Lawson is a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) and brings over 20 years of accounting experience from a diverse background in the public and private sectors covering manufacturing, family entertainment, hospital, university, regional and provincial governments.  Ms. Lawson’s passion for learning inspired her to pursue her Bachelors of Commerce from Laurentian University where she then completed her Master of Business Administration (MBA).

Born in Hamilton, Ms. Lawson moved to the Niagara Region in 2002 where she has been an active member of the community, running for municipal council in 2010.  Ms. Lawson is known for her extended community involvement.  She has been active as a member of several sporting and service organizations, including President of Grimsby Baseball, Treasurer of 62 Phantom Air Cadets, School Council Treasurer and is active as Secretary Treasurer of BNI SCORE, Chapter Launch Ambassador, and 2835 Army Cadet Volunteer.

“I am honored to have been appointed to the Niagara Police Services Board," says Ms. Lawson. "I anticipate the role will be complex and challenging, and I look forward to offering my contribution to ensure that our communities have the policing services they need.”

A/Board Chair Bill Steele welcomed Ms. Lawson's appointment and said, "Ms. Lawson's public and private sector accounting experience will serve her and this Board well in the many challenges we currently face.  Her appointment will strengthen and add diversity to our Board and assist with her new responsibilities.  We all look forward to her input and a new perspective that Jen will bring to assist in the resolution of issues before this Board."

The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board is the civilian body governing the Niagara Regional Police Service and is comprised of seven members.  By statute, three are members of the Regional Council of Niagara, three are citizens of Niagara appointed by the provincial government, and one member is a citizen appointment made by the Regional Council of Niagara.  It is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services for 12 municipalities, totaling some 480,000 residents and an estimated 15,000,000 visitors annually. 

For further information, contact: Deb Reid, Executive Director, Niagara Police Services Board, (905) 688-4111 Extension 5170