The Regional Municipality of Niagara Police Services Board is responsible for the provision of police services in the Niagara Region.  It is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services, law enforcement of policies, and crime prevention within the Region, a duty it discharges through the enactment of policies.  In consultation with the Chief of Police, it establishes the general policing priorities for the Regional Municipality of Niagara.  The Board is the civilian body governing the Niagara Regional Police Service.

In that role, the Board is responsible for the police budget, overseeing the Chief of Police, and is the employer for the members of the police service.  The authority of the Board is established by Section 31 of the Ontario Police Services Act.

The Board is comprised of seven members:

Three appointed by the Government of Ontario:

Three representatives of Regional Council (for four-year terms):

One Citizen appointed by Regional Council (for a four-year term):

All members serve on a part-time basis.  The Board has two full-time employees: Deb Reid, Executive Director and Dawn Cichocki, Executive Assistant.